Mindful Influence ~ Creating conscious moments

Kari Estrada

What is all the “Mindfulness” About?

Leave a comment

By now, I think that most of the American culture has heard the buzzword, MINDFULNESS. It is being written and talked about in western mainstream. Many say it is the latest fad; I believe that mindfulness is a tool that leads you to positivity and happiness.

Mindfulness can be defined in many different ways. Dr. Jon Kabat-Zinn defines mindfulness as “paying attention in a particular way: on purpose, in the present moment, and non-judgmentally.” Another way to describe mindfulness is to practice “being” rather than “doing”. It has been around for over 2500 years and the benefits continue to be researched. Many organizations such as Google and the U.S. Military incorporate mindful-based programs into their culture.

I was first introduced to mindfulness through sports. We practiced letting go of our thoughts and focusing on our breath. We also practiced visualizations this way. I was not aware at the time that I was being mindful. Many athletes in various sports use this technique. Over the past four years I have practiced various mediations off and on that included belly breathing, body scans, and Wuji Gong. In the fall of 2013, I enrolled in a class titled Mindful Leadership through the MBA program at the University of Nevada, Reno. This class taught various methods of practicing mindfulness and how it can be integrated with leadership practices. Through this class, meditation practice has become part of my daily routine.

Dance

In todays busy world we are always looking into the future and rushing though life, causing us to miss out on what is happening in the present moment. Through this blog, I will share how a mindfulness lifestyle can influence experiences and provide a greater appreciation for awareness, focus, and life’s moments.

Author: Kari Estrada

Hi, my name is Kari Estrada. I grew up in Anchorage, Alaska where I earned my BBA in Accounting from the University of Alaska, Anchorage. In 2005 I moved to Reno, Nevada. I married my best friend and am currently a stay-at-home Mom to my two beautiful children. I am pursuing my MBA from the University of Nevada, Reno. My purpose is to educate others about mindfulness and how it can influence our lives. Practicing mindfulness allows me to grow and learn each day. It guides me to be in the present moment, to trust the journey of each day, and to create positive experiences. Please feel free to share your thoughts and experiences when reading my blog.

Leave a Reply

