Mindful Influence ~ Creating conscious moments

Kari Estrada

Practice, Not Perfect

Leave a comment

Practicing mindfulness consistently is the gateway to enjoying the benefits.  Emphasize on the practice rather than trying to perfect it.  Some days will be harder than others to keep your focus and attention.  This is completely okay and will happen even 10 years from now.  Remember to engage with the 7 attitudes and to keep practicing regularly.

Here are some of my personal benefits that I have experienced through my mindful practice over the past six months:

  •  Less Multitasking – Have you ever burned your dinner you were cooking because you were checking e-mail or social media on your phone?  By doing less, we accomplish more.  Focusing our attention in the present moment helps us to complete tasks and projects more effectively and efficiently.  If our attention is on cooking dinner, usually it will not burn.
  • Patience – I have been a stay-at-home Mom for 3 months.  This was a big adjustment for me since I usually worked an average of 60 hours per week.  Being mindful has taught me to be more patient with myself.  Knowing I will not always have the opportunity to be home, I focus on enjoying each day with my kids and to “be in the moment” with them.  I am practicing patience to connect with my kids rather than force developments or situations.
  • Positivity – Practicing mindfulness consistently makes me a much more positive person.  In December, my position was eliminated without any notice.  A year ago, I would have felt depressed and unsuccessful.  I decided to accept the situation, let go by not dwelling in the past and not having future expectations, and to trust my journey.  I am able to identify with my emotions and thoughts and respond positively.
  • Energy – Through mindfulness I am energized and rarely feel tired.  I am healthier and happier.  I have reintroduced my workouts into my daily schedule and have plenty of energy to keep up with my family and school.

These are just a few of the benefits I have gained over the past six months.  My next post will discuss how mindfulness can reduce stress.  I want to encourage you to develop consistency with mindfulness.  Remember, PRACTICE, NOT PERFECT!

Please share how mindfulness has enhanced your life and the benefits you have experienced.

 

Author: Kari Estrada

Hi, my name is Kari Estrada. I grew up in Anchorage, Alaska where I earned my BBA in Accounting from the University of Alaska, Anchorage. In 2005 I moved to Reno, Nevada. I married my best friend and am currently a stay-at-home Mom to my two beautiful children. I am pursuing my MBA from the University of Nevada, Reno. My purpose is to educate others about mindfulness and how it can influence our lives. Practicing mindfulness allows me to grow and learn each day. It guides me to be in the present moment, to trust the journey of each day, and to create positive experiences. Please feel free to share your thoughts and experiences when reading my blog.

Leave a Reply

