Mindful Influence ~ Creating conscious moments

Kari Estrada

Looking Beyond the Mirror

2 Comments

Every human has four endowments- self awareness, conscience, independent will and creative imagination. These give us the ultimate human freedom… The power to choose, to respond, to change. -Stephen R. Covey

Mindfulness incorporates all four human endowments identified by Stephen R. Covey.  When I first stared meditating, I had many thoughts.  “Am I doing this right?  Has it really only been 5 minutes?  What else do I need to do today?”  These are all pretty normal.  As anything else, you need to practice meditation to help eliminate distractions.   By embracing different ways to cultivate mindfulness I am able to CHOOSE to let go of my thoughts and focus in the present moment during meditation.

In today’s growing society we are doing more than ever combined with an abundance of distractions that lead us to overthinking.  Through mindfulness, I have been able to weed out distractions and concentrate on my purpose and being.  Mindfulness is a lifestyle change that allows me to be open, honest, and compassionate with myself while taking responsibility for my actions and choices each day.  Here are some of my reflections on how my mindfulness integrates with the four human endowments:

 

  • SELF-AWARENESS:  Mindfulness allows me to examine who I really am, how I respond internally and externally, and what truly makes me happy.  I keep a meditation/observation journal to write in each day.  This guides me into my true self.
  • CONSCIENCE:  Mindfulness has given me the wisdom to identify with my purpose.  It gives me balance and harmony that aligns my actions and choices with my personal ethics and principles.
  • INDEPENDENT WILL:  Mindfulness has helped me to eliminate unnecessary distractions and to put my priorities first.  I hold myself accountable for my choices and allow space before responding.
  • CREATIVE IMAGINATION:  Mindfulness has increased my focus and concentration by choosing to be in the present moment.  I am innovative with ideas and envision possibilities and opportunities.  Through hard work and dedication, I can make my goals a reality.

Mindfulness has lead me to the “human freedom” that Covey discusses.  We can continue to learn and evolve as we look beyond the mirror.  Aristotle, stated, “all human beings by nature reach out for understanding.”  Please share your thoughts in the comment section below!

Author: Kari Estrada

Hi, my name is Kari Estrada. I grew up in Anchorage, Alaska where I earned my BBA in Accounting from the University of Alaska, Anchorage. In 2005 I moved to Reno, Nevada. I married my best friend and am currently a stay-at-home Mom to my two beautiful children. I am pursuing my MBA from the University of Nevada, Reno. My purpose is to educate others about mindfulness and how it can influence our lives. Practicing mindfulness allows me to grow and learn each day. It guides me to be in the present moment, to trust the journey of each day, and to create positive experiences. Please feel free to share your thoughts and experiences when reading my blog.

2 thoughts on “Looking Beyond the Mirror

  1. “Looking beyond the mirror” reading this brought my thoughts to always having self reflection, but as we be go beyond the mirror, is true evolution really taking place? Maybe we are actually operating at new levels and new frequencies so as you said, this is a way of life now. The cycle recreates itself. As our senses take in information the way we feel changes, our behavior may be different, our habitual thinking changes and that may even change the direction life may be going. Taking time in my life to be mindful has been beneficial in actually changing the moving program of my life. Thank you for your insights and reminders to incorporate this simple practice.

Leave a Reply

