Mindful Influence ~ Creating conscious moments

Kari Estrada

Your Posture Can Improve Your Future

Leave a comment

Lately, I have been paying close attention to my posture.  Most of my adult life, I have had poor posture.  I tend to go in phases as to when I practice improving my posture.  Good posture is really a discipline that many of us need to be mindful of.  Stand against a wall for three minutes.  Breath in and out…notice your posture.  Where is your head positioned?  Are your shoulders back and relaxed?  Is your core pulled inward and alert?  How far apart are your feet?  Is your weight balanced equally?  Where are your hands?

Richard Brennan, author of Change Your Posture, Change Your Life wrote:

Good posture allows the body’s healing processes to work more efficiently and effectively and helps to prevent future illness. It also aligns your body and helps your muscles, joints and ligaments to do their job as nature intended. Improving posture reduces fatigue, muscular strain and pain. Good posture also brings the body back into balance, physically, mentally and emotionally. A person who has good natural posture tends to project poise, confidence, integrity and dignity.

I truly connected with the last sentence of this quote.  I am currently searching for a job and I have had several interviews.  I am redirecting my career path a little and this sometimes leads to insecurities.  I have been reflecting on the interviews and particularly my posture.  Most of the interview I have had, I have been fairly nervous.  I think this is normal.  Looking back, posture is always the first thing that I remind myself of…Sit up straight, don’t put your elbows on the table, and most of all smile.  These may seem like small and simple things, but I need to be mindful to remain this way throughout the interview.  Body language or non-verbals are things that we tend to judge in others often.  You can tell a lot about someone just by observing how they sitting or standing.

Posture is important to pay attention to while we are sitting, standing, walking, driving, working, studying, and using our smart devices.  How we carry ourselves can affect our feelings and emotions.  After all…the mind emulates the body.  Non-verbals are a huge part of communication.  Below is Ted Talk on body language by Amy Cuddy.  She conducted a study that concluded power posing or holding a posture of confidence for a couple of minutes, even when we don’t feel confident, can affect testosterone and cortisol levels in the brain and may even have an impact on our chances for success.

Take the time to notice your posture.  Pause several times throughout your day to stop and notice how you are standing, sitting, or walking.  Make small, positive posture adjustments and observe if your mind, thoughts, and emotions make small shifts as well.

Do you think your overall posture affects your mood?  Please share your comments below!

 

Author: Kari Estrada

Hi, my name is Kari Estrada. I grew up in Anchorage, Alaska where I earned my BBA in Accounting from the University of Alaska, Anchorage. In 2005 I moved to Reno, Nevada. I married my best friend and am currently a stay-at-home Mom to my two beautiful children. I am pursuing my MBA from the University of Nevada, Reno. My purpose is to educate others about mindfulness and how it can influence our lives. Practicing mindfulness allows me to grow and learn each day. It guides me to be in the present moment, to trust the journey of each day, and to create positive experiences. Please feel free to share your thoughts and experiences when reading my blog.

Leave a Reply

