Mindful Influence ~ Creating conscious moments

Kari Estrada

A Meaningful Career

6 Comments

Do you love what you do?  Most of us work to provide the necessities needed to live along with having the ability to enjoy leisure activities.  In your career, do you provide value and purpose that stand behind your beliefs?  Lately, I have been asking myself a lot of questions about my career:  What type of work do I want to do?  What type of company do I want to work for?  How can I contribute my values and purpose to my career?  All of these questions came about when I was laid off last December.

I recently read this quote by Dr. Ellen Weber,  “Mindfulness fosters love for what you do – and enables you to do what you love.”  In my research about mindfulness and through my daily practice, I have read many articles about mindfulness and its benefits.  This quote has stuck with me and I think about it when researching new positions.  I am now approaching my job hunt more mindfully.  I am applying the 7 attributes, especially patience and trust.

A job search can be very challenging and trying at times.  I have to work towards keeping a positive attitude and know that it will not always be this way.  Applying patience has allowed me to examine the types of positions that I am applying for and to know that things will develop in due time.  I am trusting the process and know that the right opportunity will present itself at the right time.  Most of my positions have been accounting and finance roles.  Pursing my MBA at UNR has helped broaden my business knowledge so that I can make a smooth transition into other career roles.  My interests include areas I have prior experience in such as  project management, operations, and strategy.

The following are key elements that help in mindfully searching for a meaningful career:

  • Research the job and the companies you want to work for
  • Be honest in interviews
  • Advertise your technical skills while emphasizing your people and communication skills
  •  Show your innovation
  • Stay true to your values and drive your purpose

Through this process, I have been given the opportunity to be a stay-at-home mom.  This has allowed me to redefine what my purpose is and how I want to project my purpose in the world.  By applying mindfulness and being passionate, open-minded, and focused, new doors will soon be presented!

Are you in a meaningful career doing what you love?  How have you approached applying for new opportunities?

Author: Kari Estrada

Hi, my name is Kari Estrada. I grew up in Anchorage, Alaska where I earned my BBA in Accounting from the University of Alaska, Anchorage. In 2005 I moved to Reno, Nevada. I married my best friend and am currently a stay-at-home Mom to my two beautiful children. I am pursuing my MBA from the University of Nevada, Reno. My purpose is to educate others about mindfulness and how it can influence our lives. Practicing mindfulness allows me to grow and learn each day. It guides me to be in the present moment, to trust the journey of each day, and to create positive experiences. Please feel free to share your thoughts and experiences when reading my blog.

6 thoughts on “A Meaningful Career

  1. Thanks for the link, Kari — and interesting article! We have lots in common:-) When I taught for McGill University – I also lived in the high arctic for 2 years. And I teach a course “LEAD INNOVATION WITH THE BRAIN IN MIND,” IN MBA programs for leaders:-)

    On a smaller note — Weber only has one B – not two:-) I always say the name with one B came cheaper — so I took it:-)

    Happy Easter! Ellen

    • Hi Ellen – Thank you for letting me know about the spelling. I apologize and have corrected it in my blog post. Thank you for commenting! The leadership class about innovation sounds interesting 🙂

      • Thanks back Kari, the course is really fun as students identify and replace a broken practice at work with an innovative brain based solution.

        It’s a new day in leadership — and whole brain practices are more central than ever — to help folks move forward:-) Have a great week, Kari! Ellen

  2. Kari – So often we do not have the luxury of a mindful job search and often compromise our values in the process. Unfortunately, we end up paying for these choices in a job we don’t love and aren’t committed to. I love your mindful job search approach! Staying true to your values and purpose can only gain you peace in the future, whatever position you decide on.

    • Thank you for your comments Cheryl. I myself have compromised my values based on other compensations that a job may offer. This time around, I am asking questions during the interview process to understand the organization and the position in more depth.

  3. Hi Kari. Thank you for the helpful and mindful post. It seems like so many career advice articles focus on the ability to succeed, how to get ahead, how to be the winner, and not on the emotions that you will have to deal with everyday while you are ‘getting ahead.’ Or, more importantly, why ‘getting ahead’ is so important to you in the first place. Great read!

Leave a Reply

