Mindful Influence ~ Creating conscious moments

Kari Estrada

Changing the Chaos

Leave a comment

Chaos…It is what many of my fellow MBA students would call our end of semester “crunch time”.  I started my part-time MBA at the University of Nevada Reno in the fall of 2012.  Pursuing my degree was going to take me approximately three years.  With only a couple of semesters left, I approach my learning much differently now thanks to many of the professors and courses I have taken over the past two years.

Finding mindfulness has given me an abundance of benefits when tackling school.  This current semester has been by far the most busy.  Planning, reading, researching, organizing, and team building all played a huge roles in my learning this semester.  This is the first semester where cultivating mindfulness was a daily habit for me.  Here are a few of the benefits that I have gained:

  • Non-striving:  This has given me the ability to be fully engaged in the classroom by giving my best effort and allowing myself to be fully aware in the present moments.
  • Gratitude:  I am able to look at what is important to me and how it helps me add to my value and purpose.  Saying thank you to the individuals who have helped me with my MBA journey (family, friend, colleagues, and peers).
  • Creating Change:  My habits surrounding how I learn have improved.   I have improved my mental and physical focus and increased my concentration while eliminating distractions.

In a WSJ articleJeremy Hunter, says mindfulness is, “like upgrading human ability.  The Assistant Professor of Practice at the Peter F. Drucker Graduate School of Management at Claremont Graduate University believes mindfulness should be at the center of business schools’ teaching, because it is about improving the quality of attention, and in the modern workplace, attention is the key to productivity.  This statement can also be true when talking about a students quality of attention in the classroom and when studying or researching.

Mindfulness has introduced me to more self-relefection with much less judgement and control.  I am able to communicate better and solve problems through creativity and innovation by utilizing the “beginner’s mind”.

Has mindfulness helped to change your chaos?  If so, please share your comments below.

 

Author: Kari Estrada

Hi, my name is Kari Estrada. I grew up in Anchorage, Alaska where I earned my BBA in Accounting from the University of Alaska, Anchorage. In 2005 I moved to Reno, Nevada. I married my best friend and am currently a stay-at-home Mom to my two beautiful children. I am pursuing my MBA from the University of Nevada, Reno. My purpose is to educate others about mindfulness and how it can influence our lives. Practicing mindfulness allows me to grow and learn each day. It guides me to be in the present moment, to trust the journey of each day, and to create positive experiences. Please feel free to share your thoughts and experiences when reading my blog.

Leave a Reply

