Mindful Influence ~ Creating conscious moments

Kari Estrada

My Mindfulness Pulse

2 Comments

One of the things I enjoy about mindfulness is that is balances my body/mind connection.  Mindfulness has provided my life calmness, peacefulness, and happiness.  I enjoy practicing various mindfulness meditations and applying the benefits to different moments throughout my day.

Now that we are approaching the summer months with warmer weather, I find myself doing less of a formal sit down or body scan meditation.  However, I am doing more moving meditations (Hatha Yoga)  and taking a lot of mindful walks.  I notice my body/mind connection and the environment with a heightened awareness of my surroundings.

When I was first introduced to mindfulness, I felt as though I was only truly “being” during my meditations.  Over the past nine months, my cultivation of mindfulness has evolved into a lifestyle.  It allows me to live with honesty, integrity, dignity, and respect for myself and for others.

I read the following quote by Louis L’Amour for the first time the other day.  This was a true reality in my life not so long ago:

“Few of us ever live in the present.  We are forever anticipating what is to come or remembering what has gone.”

My curiosity for mindfulness started after I was involved in an unfortunate car accident that left me unable to walk for about four months.  Prior to and after the accident, I had been introduced to Qi-Gong through my sister.  When doing some research on Qi-Gong, I came across many articles on mindfulness.  I started integrating simple breathing meditations each morning along with some of the healing sounds my sister had taught me.  It truly helped change my mindset from a negative to a positive.  About a year after the accident, I had my second child and life got busy and I took a left turn off of my mindfulness journey.  It wasn’t until several years later, last fall, that I was re-introduced to mindfulness through a mindful leadership class through the MBA program at the University of Nevada Reno.  I am so thankful that this time around, it has become part of my pulse.

Now that I have shared a little bit about how mindfulness aligned into my life, I would like to hear how mindfulness was introduced into your daily life.  Also, what type of mindfulness practices do you utilize?  What changes or benefits have taken place?

Thank you for sharing your comments below.  I can also be followed on Twitter.

Author: Kari Estrada

Hi, my name is Kari Estrada. I grew up in Anchorage, Alaska where I earned my BBA in Accounting from the University of Alaska, Anchorage. In 2005 I moved to Reno, Nevada. I married my best friend and am currently a stay-at-home Mom to my two beautiful children. I am pursuing my MBA from the University of Nevada, Reno. My purpose is to educate others about mindfulness and how it can influence our lives. Practicing mindfulness allows me to grow and learn each day. It guides me to be in the present moment, to trust the journey of each day, and to create positive experiences. Please feel free to share your thoughts and experiences when reading my blog.

2 thoughts on “My Mindfulness Pulse

  1. I blogged about this actual topic today. If you are interested- http://pagingmrszen.wordpress.com/2014/05/19/5-ways-to-be-mindful-everyday/ I’m fairly new to the concept of mindfulness, but like you I’ve found it pretty life changing. 🙂

Leave a Reply

