Mindful Influence ~ Creating conscious moments

Kari Estrada

Mindfulness Teachings of Gandhi~

2 Comments

Recently I watched the film Gandhi and throughout the film, many of his values and his way of life relate to mindfulness. I knew that Mahatma Gandhi helped India gain their independence and that he influenced societies to be non-violent through Satyagraha which translates into “power of truth”. It was interesting to watch his biography of his life and to see his bravery evolve from the late 1800s. If I had to describe Gandhi in one word, it would be noble. He is open-minded, patient, self-aware, and educated. He is brave in seeking his truth and freedom for himself and for the world.

Gandhi was a wholesome and simple individual who made huge impacts on humanity. The following are leadership principles that I focused on throughout the film.

Lifelong Student – Gandhi learned through reading and life experiences. He did not live in fear of others opinions and always followed his heart. He was an innovator and always created new life law concepts. “Live as if you were to die tomorrow. Learn as if you were to live forever.”

Living in the Now – Gandhi made each moment count and lived in the now rather than worrying about the past or the future. “I do not want to foresee the future. I am concerned with taking care of the present.”

Everyone is Human – Gandhi treated everyone with respect, compassion, and kindness regardless of their mistakes. He is transparent and non-judgmental to himself and to others. “I look only to the good qualities of men. Not being faultless myself, I won’t presume to probe into the faults of others.”

Active Listener – Gandhi’s speeches throughout the film were usually short with a powerful message. I noticed that he listened to others most of the time without interruption. “The human voice can never reach the distance that is covered by the still small voice of the conscience.”

Positive Change – Gandhi approached change by identifying obstacles and presenting logical solutions. He communicated his vision passionately and in return created followers who believed in his message. “You must be the change you wish to see in the world.”

These are a few of the mindful leadership qualities that we can take away from Gandhi’s biography. He lived consciously and compassionately to project that humans can exist and thrive in a non-violent world. Through listening, respecting, and letting go of control he stayed true to his purpose. Gandhi lived his life in truth and freedom by putting his attention on his experiences and learning from them. He emphasized that the world and humanity can live in harmony. He practiced mindfulness each and everyday.

“Keep your thoughts positive because your thoughts become your words. Keep your words positive because your words become your behavior. Keep your behavior positive because your behavior becomes your habits. Keep your habits positive because your habits become your values. Keep your values positive because your values become your destiny.” -Gandhi

 

Author: Kari Estrada

Hi, my name is Kari Estrada. I grew up in Anchorage, Alaska where I earned my BBA in Accounting from the University of Alaska, Anchorage. In 2005 I moved to Reno, Nevada. I married my best friend and am currently a stay-at-home Mom to my two beautiful children. I am pursuing my MBA from the University of Nevada, Reno. My purpose is to educate others about mindfulness and how it can influence our lives. Practicing mindfulness allows me to grow and learn each day. It guides me to be in the present moment, to trust the journey of each day, and to create positive experiences. Please feel free to share your thoughts and experiences when reading my blog.

2 thoughts on “Mindfulness Teachings of Gandhi~

  1. Thank you for this piece. I am sharing it both on WP here as a re-blog and on my FB page, Seasons for Peace and Nonviolence Tucson. Namaste, Gerry

  2. Reblogged this on Engaged Spirituality With Gerry Straatemeier and commented:
    I hope you enjoy this piece on Gandhi’s mindful leadership as much as I did.

Leave a Reply

