Mindful Influence ~ Creating conscious moments

Kari Estrada

Live~Work~Create

Leave a comment

While in New York City, our class visited The High Line, a public park built on a historic freight rail line elevated above the streets in the Meatpacking District.  Of all the places we visited, this was by far my favorite due to the creativity and alternative thinking that brought this park to life.  Rather than demolishing the historic railway, Joshua David and Robert Hammond came together to promote and advocate the preservation to create social, community, and economic development.

Creativity to me is really about thinking for yourself and thinking a little bit differently from everyone else.  Many of us today live on auto-pilot, which keeps us doing the norm day in and day out.  Stopping the auto-pilot cycle allows us to be present in each moment to bring awareness to our emotions, thoughts, and body.  Incorporating mindfulness into my lifestyle enhances my productivity, increases my performance, and above all unlocks my creativity.

“Creativity, which is the expression of our originality, helps us stay mindful that what we bring to the world is completely original and cannot be compared.” –The Gifts of Imperfection –Brené Brown, Ph.D.

Creativity can be challenging due to the process of how we individually translate or express the abstract.  Mindfulness is a key component that can help to heighten our creative focus.  It helps to identify and work through the processes that block our access to creative resources.  Paying attention to yourself, your actions, others, and your surroundings in each moment with acceptance and non-judgment leads to letting go of control and discovering all that you are capable of.  This allows us to inspire and shape our creative expressions.

Mindfulness has helped to re-train my brain and creative processes in my personal and professional life by quieting my mind and giving me the ability to look and start projects with a blank canvas.  I notice innovative ideas much more often and am able to transmit them into creative productivity.

How do you stay creative?  Do you believe that mindfulness has an impact on our creative mind?

Author: Kari Estrada

Hi, my name is Kari Estrada. I grew up in Anchorage, Alaska where I earned my BBA in Accounting from the University of Alaska, Anchorage. In 2005 I moved to Reno, Nevada. I married my best friend and am currently a stay-at-home Mom to my two beautiful children. I am pursuing my MBA from the University of Nevada, Reno. My purpose is to educate others about mindfulness and how it can influence our lives. Practicing mindfulness allows me to grow and learn each day. It guides me to be in the present moment, to trust the journey of each day, and to create positive experiences. Please feel free to share your thoughts and experiences when reading my blog.

Leave a Reply

